Canadian Manufacturing

New Trudeau cabinet has big job ahead

With a mix of veteran talent and fresh blood, the new Liberal government has plenty of hot-button issues on its plate

November 4, 2015  by Sidhartha Banerjee and Giuseppe Valiante, The Canadian Press

OTTAWA—Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau has been sworn in as Canada’s 23rd prime minister by Gov. Gen. David Johnston, and he brought a number of new cabinet ministers with him.

Trudeau, who has also taken on the Intergovernmental Affairs and Youth portfolio, was sworn in shortly after the resignation earlier today of his Conservative predecessor, Stephen Harper.

RELATED: Public relations pro Faye Roberts outlines ways businesses can leverage strong government relations

Here is a list of the new cabinet sworn in on November 3:

  • Finance Minister: Bill Morneau
  • International Trade Minister: Chrystia Freeland
  • Transport Minister: Marc Garneau
  • International Development Minister: Marie-Claude Bibeau
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Minister: Navdeep Singh Bains
  • Natural Resources Minister: James Carr
  • Environment Minister: Catherine McKenna
  • Infrastructure Minister: Amarjeet Sohi
  • Agriculture Minister: Lawrence MacAulay
  • Small Business Minister: Bardish Chagger
  • Foreign Affairs Minister: Stephane Dion
  • Treasury Board President: Scott Brison
  • Employment Minister: MaryAnn Mihychuk
  • Science Minister: Kirsty Duncan
  • Public Safety Minister: Ralph Goodale
  • Immigration Minister: John McCallum
  • Indigenous and Northern Affairs Minister: Carolyn Bennett
  • Government House leader: Dominc LeBlanc
  • Justice Minister: Jody Wilson-Raybauld
  • Public Services and Procurement Minister: Judy Foote
  • Health Minister: Jane Philpott
  • Families, Children and Social Development Minister: Jean-Yves Duclos
  • Canadian Heritage Minister: Melanie Joly
  • Revenue Minister: Diane Lebouthillier
  • Veterans Affairs Minister: Kent Hehr
  • Defence Minister: Harjit Sajjan
  • Democratic Institutins Minister: Maryam Monsef
  • Sports Minister: Carla Qualtrough
  • Fisheries Minister: Hunter Tootoo
  • Status of Women’s Minister: Patricia Hajdu