Canadian Manufacturing

Canada strikes Air Transport pact with Bangladesh

by Daily Staff   

Canadian Manufacturing
Manufacturing air transport agreement Bangladesh Ed Fast Lisa Raitt Open Skies

The Government of Canada has concluded new or expanded air transport agreements covering more than 70 countries

OTTAWA—Canada has agreed to its first-ever air transport agreement with Bangladesh, allowing direct scheduled air services between the two countries.

The agreement—jointly announced by Minister of Transport Lisa Raitt and Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade—allows airlines to access all points in Canada and Bangladesh, both for passenger and all-cargo services. Airlines may also choose to offer air services by sharing space on the flights of other airlines, commonly known as code-sharing.

“The Canada-Bangladesh air travel market is growing rapidly,” said Minister Raitt. “This new air transport agreement will facilitate air travel between both countries and provide more convenience to travellers and shippers.”

“Our government’s pro-trade plan is focused on opening new markets for Canadian businesses,” said Minister Fast. “Direct air service between Canada and Bangladesh will better connect our business people, students and other travellers which will help us deepen the Canada-Bangladesh partnership.”


The agreement allows airlines to offer new services immediately.

The Government of Canada’s approach to expanding its air transport relationship with Bangladesh is consistent with Canada’s Blue Sky policy, which encourages long-term, sustainable competition and the development of new or expanded international air services.

The Government of Canada has concluded new or expanded air transport agreements covering more than 70 countries, including:

Open Skies-type agreements with 16 countries: Barbados, Brazil, Costa Rica, Curaçao, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Saint Maarten, South Korea, Switzerland, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Expanded agreements with 15 countries: Algeria, China, Cuba, Egypt, India, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Morocco, Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and Turkey.

First-time agreements with 18 countries: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Colombia, Croatia, Ethiopia, the Gambia, Kenya, Kuwait, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Canada and the European Union’s 27 member states share a comprehensive air transport agreement.


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories